Skip to Main Content
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center

Georgia: Center for International Human Rights


Public international law governs relationships between national governments and/or intergovernmental organizations. For more detailed guidance on how to research international human rights law, please see our International Human Rights Law Research Guide

United Nations

The United Nations is the largest intergovernmental organization with 193 member states. The UN human rights system develops, monitors, and protects human rights around the world.

A few key UN resources are linked below, but please see the United Nations section on the International Human Rights Law Research Guide for much more detailed coverage of the UN human rights system. 

Council of Europe

Georgia joined the Council of Europe on 27 April 1999 and is a party to the European Convention on Human Rights

In addition to the European Convention on Human Rights, Georgia is also a party to various regional treaties between Council of Europe member states such as the Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence (CETS No. 210) and the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities (ETS No. 157). However, Georgia is not a party to the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages (ETS No. 148)

European Union

Georgia is not a member of the European Union, but applied for EU membership on 3 March 2022. In June 2022, the European Commission recommended that Georgia should be given the perspective to become a member of the European Union. The European Commission's opinion set out a list of priorities and recommended that Georgia be granted candidate status after those priorities are addressed.