Skip to Main Content
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center

Myanmar: Center for International Human Rights

Administrative Structure

Myanmar is a country located in Southeast Asia that is bordered by India, Bangladesh, China, Laos, and Thailand. In accordance with the 2008 Constitution (Chapter II: State Structure), the country is divided into seven States, seven Regions, and one Union Territory. 



Maps can serve many different purposes and may be either historical or current in nature:

  • Political/administrative maps: show geographic boundaries between governmental units, such as states/regions, districts, and townships
  • Topographic/physical maps: depict the natural landscape of an area, such as rivers, mountains, and lakes
  • Thematic maps: portray information on a particular subject or theme (e.g., language, climate air quality, or population) 

The following resources provide access to various types of maps of Myanmar: