Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center

Ethiopia: Center for International Human Rights


Ethiopia is located in the Horn of Africa, which is in the eastern part of the continent. Ethiopia is a landlocked country bordered by Eritrea (north), Djibouti and Somalia (east), Sudan and South Sudan (west), and Kenya (south). 

Government Structure

The government of Ethiopia is a federal parliamentary republic: 

  • Legislative branch: bicameral parliament (House of the Federation + House of People's Representatives)
  • Executive branch: president, prime minister, Council of State, and Council of Ministers
  • Judicial branch: federal and state courts 

National Language

Amharic is the working language of Ethiopia. In early 2020, a policy added four official languages, including Afan Oromo (most widely spoken language), Afar, Somali, and Tigrigna. 

Country Profiles