Skip to Main Content
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center

Central African Republic: Center for International Human Rights


The Central African Republic is located in central Africa and is a landlocked country bordered by Chad, Sudan, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, and Cameroon.

Government Structure

The Central African Republic is a republic with three branches of government:

  • Executive: president (head of state) + prime minister (head of government)
  • Legislative: national assembly
  • Judicial: court system

National Language

French and Sangho are the official languages of the Central African Republic. 

Country Profiles