Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center


New Acquisitions

New Acquisitions at the Pritzker Legal Research Center of Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

July 2021 New Books

Title Subject Call Number
Abortion under state constitutions : a state-by-state analysis / Paul Benjamin Linton. Abortion--Law and legislation--United States--States. MON KF3771 .L56 2020
Private regulation and enforcement in the EU / edited by Madeleine de Cock Buning and Linda Senden. Actions and defenses--European Union countries. online access
Controlling EU agencies : the rule of law in a multi-jurisdictional legal order / edited by Miroslava Scholten, Alex Brenninkmeijer. Administrative law--European Union countries. online access
Rap on trial : race, lyrics, and guilt in America / Erik Nielson and Andrea L. Dennis ; with a foreword by Killer Mike. African Americans--Legal status, laws, etc. online access
Law in the first person plural : roots, concepts, topics / Bert van Roermund. Agency (Law)--Philosophy. online access
Impersonating animals : rhetoric, ecofeminism, and animal rights law / S. Marek Muller. Animal ecology. online access
Competition law in developing countries / Thomas K. Cheng. Antitrust law--Developing countries. online access
Leniency in EU competition law / Ingrid Margrethe Halvorsen Barlund. Antitrust law--European Union countries. online access
Remedies in EU competition law. Substance, process and policy. / Damien Gerard ; Assimakis Komninos. Antitrust law--European Union countries. online access
Competition law's innovation factor : the relevant market in dynamic contexts in the EU and the US / Viktoria Robertson. Antitrust law--United States. online access
Recasting the insolvency regulation : improvements and missed opportunities / Vesna Lazić, Steven Stuij, editors. Bankruptcy. online access
Research handbook on corporate bankruptcy law / edited by Barry E. Adler (New York University, School of Law, US). Bankruptcy--Research. online access
Bankruptcy in a nutshell / David G. Epstein, George E. Allen Chair Professor of Law, University of Richmond, Richmond, Virginia. Bankruptcy--United States. MON KF1501 .E67 2021
Research handbook on big data law / edited by Roland Vogl. Big data. online access
Handbook of blockchain law : a guide to understanding and resolving the legal challenges of the blockchain technology / edited by Matthias Artzt, Thomas Richter. Blockchains (Databases)--Law and legislation. online access
Gender and corporate governance / Francisco Bravo Urquiza and Nuria Reguera-Alvarado. Boards of directors. online access
Economic instruments for a low-carbon future / edited by Theodoros Zachariadis, Janet E. Milne, Mikael Skou Andersen and Hope Ashiabor. Carbon dioxide mitigation--Law and legislation. online access
Discovering childhood in international relations / J. Marshall Beier, editor. Children--Legal status, laws, etc. online access
The ecology of childhood : how our changing world threatens children's rights / Barbara Bennett Woodhouse. Children's rights. online access
Chinese civil code : the general part / by Yuanshi Bu. Civil law--China--Codification. N,HCP KNQ500 .B828 2019
Veiled power : international law and the private corporation 1886-1981 / Doreen Lustig. Commercial law. online access
Cybersecurity : key legal considerations for the aviation and space sector / Federico Bergamasco [and 3 others]. Computer security--Law and legislation--European Union countries. online access
Conflict of laws and the internet / Pedro de Miguel Asensio. Conflict of laws--European Union countries. online access
Fairness, morality and ordre public in intellectual property / edited by Daniel J. Gervais. Conflict of laws--Intellectual property. online access
Economic sanctions in EU private international law / Tamás Szabados. Conflict of laws--Sanctions--European Union countries. online access
Mergers in the global markets : a comparative approach to the competition and national security laws among the US, EU, and China / Felix I. Lessambo. Consolidation and merger of corporations--Law and legislation. online access
Human rights with a human touch : Liber amicorum Paul Lemmens / Koen Lemmens, Stephan Parmentier, Louise Reyntjens (eds.). Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (1950 November 5) MON K3240 .H869 2019
Recognising human rights in different cultural contexts : the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) / Emily Julia Kakoullis, Kelley Johnson, editors. Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and Optional Protocol (2007 March 30) online access
The political constitution of the corporation : a management studies view / Alexander Styhre. Corporations--Political activity. online access
Cases without controversies : uncontested adjudication in Article III courts / James E. Pfander. Courts--United States. X,FAC ZF1.P53 C37
Intersections in international cultural heritage law / edited by Anne-Marie Carstens, Elizabeth Varner. Cultural property--Protection (International law) online access
Data protection and privacy : data protection and democracy / edited by Dara Hallinan, Ronald Leenes, Serge Gutwirth and Paul De Hert. Data protection--Law and legislation--Congresses. online access
Human dignity and the adjudication of environmental rights / Dina Lupin Townsend. Dignity. online access
Dispute system design : preventing, managing, and resolving conflict / Lisa Blomgren Amsler, Janet K. Martinez, Stephanie E. Smith. Dispute resolution (Law) online access
The law of domestic relations in the United States / Homer H. Clark, Jr., Sanford N. Katz. Domestic relations--United States. MON KF504 .C552 2021
A multilateral instrument for updating the tax treaty network / Nathalie Bravo. Double taxation--Treaties. online access
The aftermath of BEPS / editor: Joanna Wheeler. Double taxation--Treaties. online access
Coercion and the nature of law / Kenneth Einar Himma. Duress (Law) online access
China's criminal legislation on embezzlement and bribery / Renwen Liu, editor. Embezzlement--Law and legislation--China. online access
Environmental health in international and EU law : current challenges and legal responses / edited by Stefania Negri. Environmental law, International. MON K3585 .E57715 2020
Global environmental law / by Ricardo Luis Lorenzetti and Pablo Lorenzetti. Environmental law, International. online access
The impact of environmental law : stories of the world we want / edited by Rose-Liza Eisma-Osorio, Elizabeth A. Kirk, Jessica Steinberg Albin. Environmental law. online access
Philosophical foundations of the law of equity / edited by Dennis Klimchuk, Irit Samet, and Henry E Smith. Equity. online access
International estate planning : a reference guide / Barbara Hauser, Melissa Langa. Estate planning--United States. online access
Freedom of speech in practice : controversial applications of law and theory / Anthony Gray. Freedom of speech. online access
A free and regulated press : defending coercive independent press regulation / Paul Wragg. Freedom of the press--Philosophy. online access
Warped narratives : distortion in the framing of gun policy / Melissa K. Merry. Gun control--United States--Public opinion. online access
Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr., pragmatism and neuroscience / Jay Schulkin. Holmes, Oliver Wendell, Jr., 1841-1935. online access
Informed consent and health : a global analysis / edited by Thierry Vansweevelt, Nicola Glover-Thomas. Informed consent (Medical law) online access
Informed consent and health literacy : workshop summary / Joe Alper, rapporteur. Informed consent (Medical law)--United States--Congresses. online access
Research handbook on intellectual property and technology transfer / edited by Jacob H. Rooksby. Intellectual property. MON K1401 .R46827 2020
Research handbook on intellectual property and investment law / edited by Christophe Geiger. Intellectual property. online access
The allocation of multinational business income : reassessing the formulary apportionment option / edited by Richard Krever and Francois Vaillancourt. International business enterprises--Taxation--Law and legislation. MON K4550 .A955 2020
Shocking the conscience of humanity : gravity and the legitimacy of international criminal law / Margaret M. deGuzman. International criminal law--Philosophy. online access
International legal research in a nutshell / Marci B. Hoffman. International law--Legal research. MON KZ1234 .H64 2021
The origin and evolution of investment treaty standards : stability, value, and reasonableness / Federico Ortino. Investments, Foreign (International law) online access
International investment law and competition law [electronic resource] / Katia Fach Gómez, Anastasios Gourgourinis, Catharine Titi, editors. Investments, Foreign (International law)--Congresses. online access
It's not personal : politics and policy in lower court confirmation hearings / Logan Dancey, Kjersten R. Nelson, and Eve M. Ringsmuth. Judges--Selection and appointment--United States. online access
Lyrics in the law : music's influence on America's courts / Mark W. Klingensmith. Judges--United States. online access
The history and growth of judicial review / Steven Gow Calabresi. Judicial review. MON K3175 .C34 2021
A new study on the judicial administrative system with Chinese characteristics / Yong'an Ren, Xianyang Lu. Justice, Administration of--China. online access
Labour law and sustainable development / Valentina Cagnin ; with foreword by Tiziano Treu. Labor laws and legislation. online access
Labour and the wage : a critical perspective / Zoe Adams. Labor laws and legislation--Social aspects. online access
Private law, nudging and behavioural economic analysis : the mandated-choice model / Antonios Karampatzos. Law and economics--Psychological aspects. MON K487.E3 K367 2020
Law librarianship in the age of AI / edited by Ellyssa Kroski. Law libraries--Information technology. online access
The Nature and Value of Vagueness in the Law / Hrafn Asgeirsson. Law--Interpretation and construction. online access
Why people obey the law / Tom R. Tyler ; with a new afterword by the author. Law--Philosophy--Public opinion. online access
Lawyering skills in the doctrinal classroom : using legal writing pedagogy to enhance teaching across the law school curriculum / edited by Tammy Pettinato Oltz. Law--Study and teaching. MON K100 .L395 2021
Supervision in the legal profession [electronic resource] / Michael John McNamara. Lawyers--Management. online access
Legal research in a nutshell / Kent C. Olson. Legal research--United States--Study guides. MON KF240 .C54 2021
The Routledge handbook of European security law and policy / edited by E. Conde, Zhaklin V. Yaneva, Marzia Scopelliti. National security--European Union countries--Handbooks, manuals, etc. online access
Restatement of the law, charitable nonprofit organizations : as adopted and promulgated by the American Law Institute at Washington, D.C., May 17, 2016, May 22, 2017, and May 20, 2019. Nonprofit organizations--Law and legislation--United States. MON KF1388 R47 2021
Antibody patenting : a practitioner's guide to drafting, prosecution and enforcement / editors, Jürgen Meier, Oswin Ridderbusch. Patent laws and legislation. online access
Energy justice and energy law / edited by Íñigo del Guayo, Lee Godden, Donald N. Zillman, Milton F. Montoya, and José Juan González. Power resources--Law and legislation. online access
The glory and the burden : the American presidency from FDR to Trump / Robert Schmuhl. Presidents--United States--History--20th century. MON JK511 .S534 2019
Waiting for an echo : the madness of American incarceration / Christine Montross, M.D. Prison psychology--United States. online access
Causes of action : probate actions / chapter authors, John T. Brooks [and six others]. Probate law and practice--Illinois. S,IL KFI1344 .C38 2021
Conviction machine : standing up to federal prosecutorial abuse / Sidney Powell and Harvey A. Silverglate. Prosecution--United States. online access
Specifying and securing a social minimum in the battle against poverty / Toomas Kotkas, Ingrid Leijten, Frans Pennings. Public welfare--Law and legislation--Congresses. online access
Settler colonialism, race, and the law : why structural racism persists / Natsu Taylor Saito. Race discrimination--Law and legislation--United States--History. online access
The EU-Turkey statement on refugees : assessing its impact on fundamental rights / Hülya Kaya. Refugees--Turkey. online access
Research handbook on remedies in private law / edited by Roger Halson and David Campbell. Remedies (Law) online access
The right of redress / Andrew S. Gold. Remedies (Law) online access
Constructing the responsibility to protect : contestation and consolidation / edited by Charles T. Hunt and Phil Orchard. Responsibility to protect (International law) MON KZ4082 .C66 2020
The law behind rule of law transfers : on rule-based interactions of legal orders in a globalized world / Till Patrik Holterhus (ed.). Rule of law. online access
The Harmonisation of the International Sale of Goods Through Principles of Law and Uniform Rules. Sales. online access
Same-sex relationships, law and social change / edited by Frances Hamilton and Guido Noto La Diega. Same-sex marriage--Law and legislation--Congresses. MON K698.5.A6 S26 2018
The legitimacy of standardisation as a regulatory technique : a cross-disciplinary and multi-level analysis / edited by Mariolina Eliantonio and Caroline Cauffman. Standardization--Law and legislation--European Union countries. online access
Global counter-terrorist financing and soft law : multi-layered approaches / Doron Goldbarsht. Terrorism--Prevention--Finance. online access
East Timor : (Portugal v. Australia) = Timor oriental : (Portugal c. Australie). Timor-Leste--International status. MON KZ218.2 .E27 2020
Ex post economic evaluation of competition policy : the EU experience / edited by Fabienne Ilzkovitz ; Adriaan Dierx. Trade regulation--Economic aspects--European Union countries. online access
The harmonization and protection of trade secrets in the EU : an appraisal of the EU directive / edited by Jens Schovsbo, Timo Minssen and Thomas Riis. Trade secrets--European Union countries. online access
Rape and the criminal trial : reconceptualising the courtroom as an affective assemblage / Anna Carline, Clare Gunby, Jamie Murray. Trials (Rape) online access
Constitution-making under UN auspices : fostering dependency in sovereign lands / Vijayashri Sripati. United Nations. online access
Complicity and the law of international organizations : responsibility for human rights and humanitarian law violations in UN peace operations / Magdalena Pacholska. United Nations--Peacekeeping forces. online access
The Second : Race and Guns in a Fatally Unequal America / Carol Anderson. United States. Constitution. 2nd Amendment--History. online access
The US Constitution of 1791 and the Fugitive Slave Clause : a philosophical re-rendering of legislative authority : ambiguities and conflicts / Norman Coles. United States. Constitution. Article 4. online access
Voting and political representation in America : issues and trends / Mark P. Jones, editor. Voting--United States. online access
Water law in a nutshell / Sandra B. Zellmer, Adell L. Amos. Water--Law and legislation--United States. MON KF5569.85 .G48 2021
Wills, trusts, and estates : including taxation and future interests / Sheldon F. Kurtz, David M. English, Thomas P. Gallanis. Wills--United States. MON KF755 .M34 2021

July 2021 New Government Resources

Title Call Number
Creating a climate resilient America : hearing before the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis, House of Representatives, One Hundred Sixteenth Congress, first session, hearing held May 23, 2019. D,USG Y 4.2:C 61/C 61/2
Solving the climate crisis : ramping up renewables : hearing before the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis, House of Representatives, One Hundred Sixteenth Congress, first session, hearing held June 13, 2019. D,USG Y 4.2:C 61/C 61/3
Election security preparations : hearings before the Committee on Rules and Administration, United States Senate, One Hundred Fifteenth Congress, second session, June 20, 2018 and July 11, 2018. D,USG Y 4.R 86/2:S.HRG.115-648