Skip to Main Content
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center

Sri Lanka: Center for International Human Rights

Administrative Structure

Sri Lanka has nine provinces, which contain 25 districts (second-level administrative divisions) within the provinces. The districts are subdivided into divisional secretariats (DS divisions), which are further subdivided into more than 14,000 Grama Niladhari divisions. 


Maps can serve many different purposes and may be either historical or current in nature:

  • Political/administrative maps: show geographic boundaries between governmental units, such as states/regions, districts, and townships
  • Topographic/physical maps: depict the natural landscape of an area, such as rivers, mountains, and lakes
  • Thematic maps: portray information on a particular subject or theme (e.g., language, climate air quality, or population) 

The following resources provide access to various types of maps of Sri Lanka: