Pritzker Legal Research Center: Researching Legal Employers: Law Firms

Career Strategy Contact

Contact the Career Strategy Center at career-strategy@law.northwestern.edu for resources and advice to help with your job search.

Law Firm Profiles

Use these sites to learn more about legal markets, law firms, practice groups, and attorneys.

Chambers
Guides and rankings for practice areas, leading firms, and lawyers throughout the U.S.
Chambers Associate
Law student-focused website with extensive information about law firms, including reviews, rankings, starting salaries, billable hours targets, and diversity information.
Leadership Connect
Directory of employees at 40,000 U.S. government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations. Firm listings include committees and practice groups. Provides contact and biographical information on federal and state judges. Also includes contact information on judicial staff, court staff and law clerks.
Martindale
Extensive directory of lawyers, law firms, and organizations. Listings often contain contact information, a list of practice areas, a list of representative clients, and peer and client reviews.
NALP Directory of Legal Employers
Directory of more than 1,300 law firms, public interest organizations, government agencies, and corporations. Includes statistical data on firms, such as practice group sizes and demographic information.
US News Firms by Practice Area
List of firms sorted by practice area.
Vault Career Insider
A compilation of career information and management tools that allows access to downloadable career guides, employer profiles and rankings, discussion boards, industry blogs, and news.
West Legal Directory
Contains more than one million profiles of law firms and branch offices, in addition to biographical records of attorneys in any of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Canada, and Europe.

Cases, Clients, and Jurisdictions

If you are interested in learning more about a law firm's business, including the types of matters it handles most frequently, its major clients, as well as its geographical scope, these sites will prove helpful.

Bloomberg Law - Litigation Analytics
Use this site to learn more about a law firm's book of business, as well as to identify the federal jurisdictions in which the firm most often appears.
Westlaw Edge - Litigation Analytics
This tool enables you to learn more about the types of cases a law firm handles, the major clients it represents, and the state and federal jurisdictions in which it appears.