Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Logo

Pritzker Legal Research Center


New Acquisitions

New Acquisitions at the Pritzker Legal Research Center of Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

March 2021 New Books

Title Subject Call Number
Animal law in a nutshell / Sonia S. Waisman, Pamela D. Frasch, Katherine M. Hessler. Animals--Law and legislation--United States. MON KF390.5.A5 F73 2021
Competition law for the digital economy / edited by Björn Lundqvist and Michal S. Gal. Antitrust law. online access
Competition law and big data : imposing access to information in digital markets / Beata Mäihäniemi. Antitrust law--European Union countries. online access
Criminal law principles and the enforcement of EU and national competition law : a silent takeover? / Marc Veenbrink. Antitrust law--European Union countries--Criminal provisions. N,EAA KJE6533 .V44 2020
Antitrust settlements : How a simple agreement can drive the economy / Giovanna Massarotto. Antitrust law--United States. MON K3850 .M37 2019
Principles of antitrust / Herbert Hovenkamp. Antitrust law--United States. MON KF1649 .H672 2021
Fighting cross-border cartels : the perspective of the young and small competition authorities / Pierre Horna. Cartels--Developing countries. online access
The Oxford handbook of children and the law / edited by James G. Dwyer. Children--Legal status, laws, etc.--United States. online access
EU citizenship and free movement rights : taking supranational citizenship seriously / edited by Sandra Mantu, Paul Minderhoud, Elspeth Guild. Citizenship--European Union countries. N,EAA KJE5124.A8 E8 2020
Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch : mit Nebengesetzen insbesondere mit Einführungsgesetz (Auszug) einschließlich Rom I-, Rom II und Rom III-Verordnungen sowie EU-Güterrechtsverordnungen, Haager Unterhaltsprotokoll und EU-Erbrechtsverordnung, Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (Auszug), Wohn- und Betreuungsvertragsgesetz, Unterlassungsklagengesetz (PalHome), Produkthaftungsgesetz, Erbbaurechtsgesetz, Wohnungseigentumsgesetz, Versorgungsausgleichsgesetz, Lebenspartnerschaftsgesetz (PalHome), Gewaltschutzgesetz / Palandt ; bearbeitet von Prof. Dr. Jürgen Ellenberger (Vizepräsident des Bundesgerichtshofs), Prof. Dr. Isabell Götz (Vorsitzende Richterin am Oberlandesgericht München), Dr. Christian Grüneberg (Richter am Bundesgerichtshof), Sebastian Herrler (Notar in München) [and eight others]. Civil law--Germany. N,EGA KK985.51896.A6 P35 2021
Research handbook on global climate constitutionalism / edited by Jordi Jaria-Manzano, Susana Borrás. Climatic changes--Law and legislation. online access
Children's rights and commercial communication in the digital era : towards an empowering regulatory framework for commercial communication / Valerie Verdoodt. Communication and technology. online access
Global competition enforcement : new players, new challenges / edited by Paulo Burnier da Silveira, William Evan Kovacic. Competition, Unfair. MON K1575 .G56 2019
Digital competition law in Europe : a concise guide / Marc Wiggers, Robin Struijlaart, Johannes Dibbits. Competition, Unfair--Europe. online access
Transnational litigation in a nutshell / George A. Bermann, William S. Dodge, Donald Earl Childress, III. Conflict of laws--Civil procedure. MON K2205 .B47 2021
The role of the EU in transnational legal ordering : standards, contracts and codes / edited by Marta Cantero Gamito, Hans-W. Micklitz. Conflict of laws--European Union countries. online access
Revolutionary constitutionalism : law, legitimacy, power / edited by Richard Albert. Constitutional law--Congresses. online access
The Double-Facing Constitution / edited by Jacco Bomhoff, David Dyzenhaus, Thomas Poole. Constitutional law--Congresses. online access
Better regulation in EU contract law : the fitness check and the new deal for consumers / [edited by] Esther van Schagen, Stephen Weatherill. Contracts--European Union countries. online access
Pluralism or universalism in international copyright law edited by Tatiana Eleni Synodinou. Copyright, International. online access
The Cambridge handbook of corporate law, corporate governance and sustainability / edited by Beate Sjåfjell, Christopher M. Bruner. Corporation law. online access
Corporation law / Franklin A. Gevurtz, Distinguished Professor of Law, University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law, Sacramento, California. Corporation law--United States. MON KF1414 .G48 2021
Abuse of companies / edited by Hanne S. Birkmose, Mette Neville, Karsten Engsig Sørensen. Corporations--Corrupt practices. MON K5216 .A928 2019
Corporate finance in a nutshell / Jeffrey J. Haas. Corporations--Finance--Law and legislation--United States. MON KF1428 .H33 2021
Human rights in Islamic North Africa : clashes between constitutional laws and penal codes / E. Ike Udogu. Criminal law--Africa, North. online access
Reliance in the breaking-off of contractual negotiations : trust and expectation in a comparative perspective / Isabel Zuloaga. Culpa in contrahendo. online access
Criminal defence at police stations : a comparative and empirical study / Anna Pivaty. Defense (Criminal procedure) online access
Navigating social security disability programs : a handbook for clinicians and advocates / James Randall Noblitt and Pamela Perskin Noblitt. Disability insurance--Law and legislation--United States. online access
New trends in the definition of permanent establishment / edited by Prof. Guglielmo Maisto. Double taxation--Treaties. online access
The powers of dignity : the black political philosophy of Frederick Douglass / Nick Bromell. Douglass, Frederick, 1818-1895--Political and social views. online access
Patent games in the global south : pharmaceutical patent law making in Brazil, India and Nigeria / Amaka Vanni. Drugs--Brazil--Patents. online access
The juridification of individual sanctions and the politics of EU law / Eva Nanopoulos. Economic sanctions--European Union countries. online access
Taxing global digital commerce / Arthur Cockfield, Walter Hellerstein, Marie Lamensch. Electronic commerce--Taxation--Law and legislation. online access
Safeguarding children's rights in immigration law [electronic resource] / edited by Mark Klaassen, Stephanie Rap, Peter Rodrigues, Ton Liefaard. Emigration and immigration law. online access
The EU citizenship directive : a commentary / Elspeth Guild, Steve Peers, Jonathan Tomkin. European Parliament. Directive 2004/38/EC. N,EAA KJE5170.A432004 G85 2019
The European Union Returns Directive and its compatibility with international human rights law : analysis of return decision, entry ban, detention, and removal / by Izabella Majcher. European Parliament. Directive 2008/115/EC. N,EAA KJE6057.A432008 M35 2020
Proceedings before the European Patent Office : a practical guide to success in opposition and appeal / Marcus O. Müller and Cees A.M. Mulder. European Patent Office. online access
The living presidency an originalist argument against its ever-expanding powers Saikrishna Bangalore Prakash Executive power--United States. online access
European financial regulation : levelling the cross-sectoral playing field / edited by Veerle Colaert, Danny Busch and Thomas Incalza. Financial institutions--Law and legislation--European Union countries. online access
Asian migrant workers in the Arab Gulf States : the growing foreign population and their lives. edited by Masako Ishii, Naomi Hosoda, Masaki Matsuo, Koji Horinuki. Foreign workers, Asian--Arab countries. online access
The Routledge international handbook of legal and investigative psychology / edited by Ray Bull and Iris Blandón-Gitlin. Forensic psychology. MON K346 .R68 2020
Crisis of conscience : whistleblowing in an age of fraud / Tom Mueller. Fraud--United States. online access
ADR, applicable as from 1 January 2021 : Agreement Concerning the International Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road / Economic Commission for Europe, Inland Transport Committee. Hazardous substances--Transportation--Law and legislation--Europe. N,EAA KJC6011.A41957 A2 2021
Arbitrary rule : slavery, tyranny, and the power of life and death / Mary Nyquist. Hobbes, Thomas, 1588-1679. online access
Protecting human rights and building peace in post-violence societies / Nasia Hadjigeorgiou. Human rights. online access
Human rights and 21st century challenges : poverty, conflict, and the environment / edited by Dapo Akande, Jaakko Kuosmanen, Helen McDermott, Dominic Roser. Human rights. online access
Business and human rights : the obligations of the European home states / Dalia Palombo. Human rights--European Union countries. online access
Research handbook on intellectual property and digital technologies / edited by Tanya Aplin. Intellectual property. online access
Governing intellectual property rights within publicly funded biobanks / R. Neethu. Intellectual property--Europe. N,EAA KJC2636 .N44 2019
The inter-American human rights system : the law and politics of institutional change / edited by Par Engstrom and Courtney Hillebrecht. Inter-American Court of Human Rights. N,KAA KDZ579.I5 I58 2019
Unsicherheiten des Rechts : von den sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen für die freiheitliche Gesellschaft bis zu den Fehlern und Irrtümern in Recht und Rechtswissenschaft : Tagungen des Jungen Forums Rechtsphilosophie (JFR) in der Internationalen  Internal security--Law and legislation--Congresses. MON K3278.A6 U57 2020
Transnational business governance interactions : advancing marginalized actors and enhancing regulatory quality / edited by Stepan Wood, Rebecca Schmidt, Errol Meidinger, Burkard Eberlein, and Kenneth W. Abbott. International business enterprises--Law and legislation. online access
Overriding mandatory rules in international commercial arbitration / Hossein Fazilatfar. International commercial arbitration. online access
Research handbook on transnational crime / Edited by Valsamis Mitsilegas, Saskia Hufnagel, and Anton Moiseienko. International criminal law. online access
Africa and international criminal justice : radical evils and the International Criminal Court / Fred Aja Agwu. International criminal law--Africa. online access
UN reform : 75 years of challenge and change / Stephen Browne. International relations. online access
The protection of foreign investment in times of armed conflict / Jure Zrilič. Investments, Foreign--Law and legislation. MON K3830 .Z74 2019
Jurisprudence in a globalized world / edited by Jorge L. Fabra-Zamora. Jurisprudence. online access
Understanding jus cogens in international law and international legal discourse / Ulf Linderfalk. Jus cogens (International law) online access
Die Reine Rechtslehre auf dem Prüfstand : Tagung der Deutschen Sektion der Internationalen Vereinigung für Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie vom 27.-29. September 2018 in Freiburg im Breisgau = Hans Kelsen's pure theory of law : conceptions and misconceptio Kelsen, Hans, 1881-1973. Reine Rechtslehre--Congresses. MON K339.K443 I58 2018
Causes of action : employment actions / chapter authors, Gregory H. Booth, Miles V. Cohen, Brian A. Hartstein. Labor laws and legislation--Illinois. S,IL KFI1534 .B66 2021
The Oxford handbook of law and humanities / edited by Simon Stern, Maksymilian Del Mar, and Bernadette Meyler. Law and the humanities. online access
The future of the European law of civil procedure coordination or harmonisation? / edited by Fernando Gascón Inchausti and Burkhard Hess. Law. online access
Law and identity in Israel : a century of debate / Nir Kedar ; translated by Haim Watzman. Law--Israel. online access
Artefacts of legal inquiry : the value of imagination in adjudication / Maksymilian Del Mar. Law--Language. online access
Legal Knowledge and Information Systems : JURIX 2019: The Thirty-second Annual Conference / edited by Michał Araszkiewicz and Víctor Rodríguez-Doncel. Law--Methodology--Automation--Congresses. MON K87 .L43 2019
Modernising legal education / edited by Catrina Denvir. Law--Study and teaching. online access
American law and the American legal system in a nutshell / Lloyd Bonfield. Law--United States. MON KF386 .B59 2021
Legal drafting in a nutshell / George W. Kuney , Donna C. Looper. Legal composition. MON KF250 .H343 2021
Patent cultures : diversity and harmonization in historical perspective / edited by Graeme Gooday, Steven Wilf. Patent laws and legislation. online access
Causes of action : real property actions / chapter authors, B. Jay Dowling, Penni S. Livingston. Real property--Illinois. S,IL KFI1312 .D69 2021
The right to be forgotten : interpretation and practice / Paul Lambert. Right to be forgotten. MON K3264.C65 L36 2019
The right to strike in international law / Jeffrey Vogt, Janice Bellace, Lance Compa, Keith Ewing, John Hendy QC, Klaus Lörcher, Tonia Novitz. Right to strike. online access
Global norms and local courts : translating the rule of law in Bangladesh / Tobias Berger. Rule of law--Bangladesh. online access
Die Krise des demokratischen Rechtsstaats im 21. Jahrhundert, oder, Wie sich die Geschichte gegen ihr Ende wehrt : Tagung des Jungen Forums Rechtsphilosophie (JFR) in der Internationalen Vereinigung für Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie (IVR) im April 2019 i Rule of law--Congresses. MON K3171.A6 J86 2019
Law's sacrifice : approaching the problem of sacrifice in law, literature, and philosophy / edited by Brian W. Nail and Jeffrey A. Ellsworth. Sacrifice. MON BL570 .L39 2020
Research handbook on international and comparative sale of goods law / edited by Djakhongir Saidov (Professor of Commercial Law, The Dickson Poon School of Law, Kings College London, UK). Sales--Handbooks, manuals, etc. online access
Economic sanctions in international law and practice / edited by Masahiko Asada. Sanctions (International law)--Congresses. online access
The law of securities regulation / Thomas Lee Hazen. Securities--United States. MON KF1439 .H39 2021
Principles of securities regulation / Thomas Lee Hazen. Securities--United States. MON KF1439 .H393 2021
Securities regulation in a nutshell  / Thomas Lee Hazen. Securities--United States. MON KF1440 .R37 2021
Accountability, international business operations, and the law : providing justice for corporate human rights violations in global value chains / edited by Liesbeth Enneking, Ivo Giesen, Anne-Jetske Schaap, Cedric Ryngaert, François Kristen, and Lucas Ro Social responsibility of business--Law and legislation. online access
Confronting the shadow state : an international law perspective on state organized crime / Henri Decœur. State crimes. MON K5301 .D33 2018
Torts and other wrongs / John Gardner. Torts. online access
Principles of trademark law / Roger E. Schechter, John R. Thomas. Trademarks--Law and legislation--United States. MON KF3180 .S34 2021
Transitional justice in comparative perspective : preconditions for success / Samar El-Masri, Tammy Lambert, Joanna R. Quinn, editors. Transitional justice. online access
The legal consequences of limited statehood : Palestine in multilateral frameworks / Shadi Sakran. Treaties. online access
Remote advocacy in a nutshell / Tracy Walters McCormack. Trial practice--United States--Outlines, syllabi, etc. MON KF8915.Z9 M35 2021
The Twenty-second Amendment and the limits of presidential tenure : a tradition restored / Martin B. Gold. United States. Constitution. 22nd Amendment. online access
The United States Supreme Court and politics : judicial retirements, the Docket, and the nomination process / Justin P. DePlato ; with Matthew M. Markulin. United States. Supreme Court--Officials and employees--Selection and appointment--History. online access
The limits of sovereignty : property confiscation in the Union and the Confederacy during the Civil War / Daniel W. Hamilton. United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Law and legislation. online access
Permanent establishments in value added tax : the role of establishments in international B2B trade in services under VAT/GST law / Karoline Spies. Value-added tax--Law and legislation. online access
The legacy of Vattel's Droit des gens / Koen Stapelbroek, Antonio Trampus, editors. Vattel, Emer de, 1714-1767. Droit des gens. online access
The 'legal pluriverse' surrounding multinational military operations / edited by Robin Geiss and Heike Krieger ; assistant editor, Henning Lahmann. War (International law) online access
Gender inequality and welfare states in Europe / Mary Daly (Professor of Sociology and Social Policy, Department of Social Policy and Intervention, University of Oxford, UK). Welfare state--Europe. online access
The Belt and Road Initiative and global governance / edited by Maria A. Carrai, Jean-Christophe Defraigne and Jan Wouters. Yi dai yi lu (Initiative : China) online access

March 2021 New Government Resources

Title Call Number
Nomination hearing of James Brett Blanton for Architect of the Capitol : hearing before the Committee on Rules and Administration, United States Senate, One Hundred Sixteenth Congress, first session, December 12, 2019. D,USG Y 4.R 86/2:S.HRG.116-146
H. Res. 755, Impeaching Donald John Trump, President of the United States, for high crimes and misdemeanors : meeting of the Committee on Rules, House of Representatives, One Hundred Sixteenth Congress, first session, Tuesday, December 17, 2019. D,USG Y 4.R 86/1:IM 7/2
Commerce, Justice, science, and related agencies appropriations for fiscal year 2019 : hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Appropriations, United States Senate, One Hundred Fifteenth Congress, second session, on H.R. 5952/S. 3072, an act making appropriations for the Departments of Commerce and Justice, and science, and related agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2019, and for other purposes. D,USG Y 4.AP 6/2:S.HRG.115-750